Almost Alive

About us

Slawomir and Stephan have already realized a large solo exhibition together. This water-themed audiovisual show was presented as "Come to Bath / Let's Have a Bath" in autumn 2016 at Wassergalerie in Berlin, Germany. In the current collaboration "Almost Alive", which will be shown during the this year gallery weekend at gallery Im Leeren Raum in Berlin-Schöneberg in April of this year, Slawomir's photographies, sound and video work will be combined with installations and objects by Stephan. All works are part of the big project "The Puppenhaus". Most of the works were created for this exhibition and will be shown for the first time.

Slawomir Cap works as a sound engineer in Berlin. In addition to working with sound he uses photography as his artistic means of expression. His sound collages are based on quadrophonic or surround sound, so the listener stands in the artwork and is literally completely surrounded. Bringing pictures and sound together is an extraordinary experience, because of the different and new effect, that the single ingredients do not have by themself. - https://www.slawomircap.com

Stephan Reichmann lives and works in Berlin and Leipzig. He increasingly uses dolls in his work, which he usually discovers and “rescued” on the various flea markets of Berlin. With a stock of currently around 800 mannequins, Barbies, baby dolls and cartoon characters from the 1940s to today, the artist tells of the very big, existential and the small, everyday issues of life. In addition to installations, photographic works and object art he also does large-format, over-painted digital collages. Most recently, in the summer of last year, he was invited to the exhibition of the 22nd International AIDS Conference (AIDS 2018) in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. - https://www.stephanreichmann.com

Almost Alive

Über uns

Slawomir und Stephan haben bereits eine große Einzelausstellung gemeinsam realisiert. Diese audiovisuelle Show zum Thema Wasser lief unter dem Titel „Komm baden / Let's Have a Bath“ im Herbst 2016 in der Wassergalerie in Berlin. In der aktuelle Zusammenarbeit “Almost Alive”, die im April dieses Jahres während des Gallery Weekends in der Galerie Im Leeren Raum in Berlin Schöneberg gezeigt wird, finden Fotografie, Sound und Video von Slawomir mit Installation und Objekten von Stephan zusammen. Alle Arbeiten sind Teil des großen Projekts “The Puppenhaus”, die meisten sind für diese Ausstellung entstanden und werden erstmals präsentiert.

Slawomir Cap arbeitet als Tontechniker in Berlin. Neben der Arbeit mit Geräuschen und Sound nutzt er die Fotografie als künstlerisches Ausdrucksmittel. Seine Klangkollagen basieren auf Quadrophonic- oder Surround-Sound, sodass der Hörer im Kunstwerk steht, sozusagen ganz von ihm umgeben ist. Besonders spannend ist die Kombination von Bild und Ton, denn diese weist eine ganz andere und neue Wirkung auf, als die der einzelnen Bestandteile. - https://www.slawomircap.com

Stephan Reichmann lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und Leipzig. Immer mehr verwendet er in seinen Arbeiten Puppen, die er meist auf den Trödelmärkten Berlins entdeckt. Mit einem Bestand von derzeit rund 800 Schaufensterpuppen, Barbies, Babypuppen und Comicfiguren aus den 1940er Jahren bis heute erzählt der Künstler von den ganz großen, existenziellen und den kleinen, alltäglichen Fragen des Lebens. Neben Installationen, Fotoarbeiten und Objektkunst entstehen großformatige, übermalte digitale Collagen. Zuletzt war er im Sommer vergangenen Jahres zu einer Ausstellung der 22nd International AIDS Conference (AIDS 2018) nach Amsterdam, Niederlande, eingeladen. - https://www.stephanreichmann.com